At last!

After starting my seeds nearly 8 weeks later than ideal, and the long wait that has ensued in the time since, I was finally able to pick my first tomatoes yesterday!

 

There are many more coming ripe now, as well as new fruits still setting. It’s been hot for a long time but apparently, it’s still cooling enough at night for them to set fruit. Yay!

I was adamant about eating the first one simply, with olive oil and salt, where the flavor of the tomato could shine through. This is the first home grown tomato I’ve eaten ever. This one is a Margherita; I also have Brandywines in the garden but none of them has started to ripen yet.

It was very good. Not quite as mind-blowing as I’d been told to expect, but I may have picked this a day or two sooner than I should have. I’m looking forward to gathering more ‘maters in the days to come! 🙂

, , ,

  1. Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

